July 28, 2016

"Interns working for the private spaceflight company United Launch Alliance clearly aren't making copies and fetching coffee — they're building record-breaking rockets."

Space.com: On Sunday (July 24), ULA launched the 50-foot-tall (15.24 meters) Future Heavy rocket out of Fort Carson Army Post, breaking the record for "the largest sport rocket launched anywhere in the world," according to a statement from ULA. The Future Heavy is also notable because it was built entirely by company interns and their mentors. By Calla Cofield

'"We like [our interns] to have a very realistic experience," ULA President and CEO Tory Bruno told Space.com at the Space Symposium meeting in Colorado Springs, Colorado, last April.

'ULA launched two intern-built rockets on Sunday: the Future Heavy and the 10-foot-tall (3 m) Genesis rocket. The Future Heavy was set to launch at approximately 11 a.m. MDT (1 p.m. EDT), and the first post-launch images appeared on ULA's Twitter account at 1:27 p.m. EDT (1727 GMT). Twitter user Andrea Lehnhoff (@AndieMarieC) tweeted a video of the launch. The Genesis launch was briefly delayed due to a "tech issue," but ULA later reported mission success. (The day's events also included launches sponsored by the Space Foundation, the statement said).'

No comments: